Masters completion courses

Masters completion courses

After completing the GDLP component of your Master of Legal Practice, consider continuing to complete your Master of Legal Practice (MLP).

To complete your Master of Legal Practice, you will need to complete 24 units of MLP completion courses.

You may choose to do:

Clustering subjects for specialist study

You may select from any of the MLP completion courses, or you may choose to develop your expertise by selecting a cluster of courses that will give you further depth in a specialist area. We’ve provided some examples of clusters of subjects to support specialist study in that subject area.

Family Law

If you wish to specialise in Family Law choose from:


If your role will be principally as a litigator, choose from:

Legal practice

You see your future in managing a legal practice, whether a firm or community legal centre, but would like to know more about the diversity of roles, consider the following subjects:

Commercial and Technology

If your legal practice will include Commercial and Technology, choose from:

Practice skills

This cluster provides in-depth experience in key Practice skills areas:

Research Paper

A research paper may be taken as part of a Master of Legal Practice program. The course is worth 12 units and involves the completion of a 11,000-16,000 word research thesis. The specific length will vary, depending on what course or program you are enrolled into.

Please see the GRU page for more information.

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  Director, GDLP/Page Contact:  Program Coordinator, GDLP