Legal practice experience (LPE)

An essential component of your GDLP is the Legal Practice Experience (LPE) which is a placement in the legal profession under the supervision of a lawyer with at least three years of legal experience. The practical experience comprises a 20, 50 or 80 day placement in an approved legal workplace.

Please refer to the PDF icon LPE Guidelines (409.56 KB) for more information.

Please note: you can only enrol in this course once you have completed all your placement days. You will receive enrolment instructions (and a permission code) from the LPE Convenor.

Regional, Rural, Remote (RRR)

Due to a shortage of lawyers in regional, rural and remote areas of Australia, we strongly encourage GDLP students to undertake the legal placement experience component of the GDLP in RRR areas.

The ANU School of Legal Practice is the first and only Practical Legal Training program in Australia contributing towards addressing the significant need for lawyers in RRR locations by offering financial assistance to help offset the costs of out of pocket expenses such as travel and accommodation in support of students undertaking RRR legal practice experience.

To arrange a RRR legal placement, you will at first instance, enquire directly with legal organisations or practices, in RRR locations, to arrange and confirm a legal placement following which you will complete and submit the PDF icon RRR Financial Assistance Application Form (148.13 KB) to the School of Legal Practice along with any required supporting documents.

In 2017 we celebrated the start of our new course, Law, Lawyers and Justice: Regional, Rural, Remote in the Master of Legal Practice (MLP) program. Students in the ANU Juris Doctor and LLM program can also take the course.

Legal Aid Clinic (LAC)

The Legal Aid Clinic based at the ACT Legal Aid Office offers an opportunity to undertake, in Canberra, 6 Fulltime sessions and 3 Part-time sessions of 15 or 20 days LPE. Bookings for Semester 1, 2020 are now open: peter.sutherland@anu.edu.au

Please refer to the LAC Program Booklet for more information.

The LAC full-time placement sessions in Semester 1 2020:

Session One – Friday, 31 January 2020 Orientation Workshop – 4.00pm

Mon 3 Feb to Fri 7 Feb

Mon 10 Feb to Fri 14 Feb Mon 17 Feb to Fri 21 Feb Mon 24 Feb to Fri 28 Feb

Session Two – Friday, 31 January 2020 Orientation Workshop – 4.00pm

Mon 2 Mar to Fri 6 Mar Tue 10 Mar to Fri 13 Mar
Public Holiday: 9 Mar
Mon 16 Mar to Fri 20 Mar Mon 23 Mar to Fri 27 Mar

Session Three – Friday, 27 March 2020 Orientation Workshop – 4.00pm

Mon 30 Mar to Fri 3 Apr Mon 6 Apr to Thu 9 Apr
Public Holiday: 10 Apr
Tue 14 Apr to Fri 17 Apr
Public Holiday: 13 Apr
Mon 20 Apr to Fri 24 Apr

Session Four – Friday, 24 April 2020 Orientation Workshop – 4.00pm

Mon 27 apr to Fri 1 May Mon 4 May to Fri 8 May Mon 11 May to Fri 15 May Mon 18 May to Fri 22 May

Session Five – Friday, 24 April 2020 Orientation Workshop – 4.00pm

Mon 25 May to Fri 29 May Tue 2 Jun to Fri 14 Feb
Public Holiday: 1 Jun
Tue 9 Jun to Fri 12 Jun
Public Holiday: 8 Jun
Mon 15 Jun to Fri 19 Jun

The Legal Aid Clinic will offer students two part-time sessions in Semester 1, 2020.

The second of these sessions will be split into students who wish to undertake 15 or 20 days LPE. 

A workshop at 4pm on the Friday before each Session starts: PT1. Fri 31 Jan; PT2 (20day). Fri 27 March, PT2 (15day). Fri 24 April

Each Session starts on a specific day: PT1 Monday 3 Feb; PT2 (20days) Monday 30 March, PT32 (15days) Monday 27 April and requires attendance on every Monday and Friday (excluding public holidays) until the student completes their LPE days.

Updated:  10 August 2015/Responsible Officer:  Director, GDLP/Page Contact:  Program Coordinator, GDLP